Secondary Schools (aged approx. 13 - 18)

Secondary Schools span from Years 9-13 ( 13 to 18 year old students).  From Year 11 students study towards their NCEA (National Certificate of Educational Achievement).  This is the senior secondary school national qualification and includes provision for entry into tertiary institutions. Students usually study towards Level One of their NCEA in Year 11, Level Two in Year 12 and Level Three in Year 13.

New Zealand Scholarship examinations are available for high achievers at secondary school level.

Secondary Schools can also offer a wide range of National Certificates that can be a good starting point for further education.

These schools offer a range of learning styles and character but all provide the national curriculum, quality assurance and examinations. 

Careers advice is available and assistance with entry to tertiary institutions.
The following schools are members of Waikato Education International:
Cambridge High School
Hamilton's Fraser High School
Hamilton Boys High School
Hillcrest High School
Melville High School
Sacred Heart Girls' College
St Johns College
St Pauls Collegiate School
St Peter's School

Waikato Diocesan School for Girls
Hamilton Christian School

Thames High School