Primary, Intermediate and Middle Schools (aged between  5 and 13)

Primary Schools span from Years 1 to 6 (children are usually aged 5 to 11), and, in some cases, from Years 1 to 8.  Intermediate schools take Year 7 and Year 8 students (usually 11 to 13 year old children).  Children learn in a variety of learning situations.  They are usually based in one classroom with one teacher.

The following primary school is a member of Waikato Education International:

Waipahihi School

Students are accepted for international study from age 9 years. Students aged 10 and under must live with a parent. 

The following schools offer education at the intermediate level (i.e. ages 11-13):
Peachgrove Intermediate School
St Peter's School, Cambridge
Waikato Diocesan School for Girls
Fairfield Intermediate School
Southwell School